Temaka’s 2018 Year Recap

2018 has had its share of good and bad moments. Here goes…

*You may notice that there are things on my list that are not directly related to me, these are moments that I shared in the joy or success of others in my family. 

IMG_1415
  1. My niece Abria graduated college.
  2. I vacationed several times, but one notable trip was to the Dominican Republic. Took my mom on this trip- She had a chance to travel out the country with both her granddaughters. I partied in a cave, and a bat flew over my head…
  3. I received a promotion at work…I worked hard for this one!
  4. I gave my first key-note speech at a conference.
  5. My sister opened her business.
  6. My niece Brittany purchased a building!
  7. I presented at a national conference in Baltimore with a colleague. The presentation received many kudos!
  8. I attended so many dope events that featured folks like Omari Hardwick, Tasha Cobb, Tony Browder, Anita Baker, Mos Def, Talib Kweli, Franchesca Ramsey, Luvvie, Jill Scott, Common, Oprah, Michelle Obama, Serena Williams, the family of Lorraine Hansberry, Yara Shidi, Sweet Honey in the Rock, T.I.,etc.
  9. Celebrated my birthday with brunch at my home. Thanks to my friend Stephanie!
  10. I Spent Mother’s Day and my brother’s birthday in South Carolina with family…
  11. I  Presented at a national conference held in downtown Chicago.
  12. I co-hosted a health disparities event.
  13. I took a nostalgic trip to Carbondale and visited vineyards with my high school friend, (Hey Toya).
  14. I had a mural painted on the back of my house.
  15. I Attended an event that featured five women from the Black Panther Party movement.
  16. Missed my first flight because I was drinking cocktails for breakfast in the airport with friends.
  17. Took a Cruise and fed dolphins.
  18. Hosted a Christmas party with my childhood friends.
  19. Got last minute tickets to the Michelle Obama book signing and scored great seats.
  20. My mom gifted me a doll she hand-made.
  21. I played my birthday in the pick -three lottery and won some hair money :).
  22. One of the more tragic events in 2018: My brother sustained life-changing injuries and the doctor’s reported that he was now a quadriplegic. My brother’s response was “I trust God.” Today he has been in rehab therapy for about 2 1/2 months, and we see signs of progress. Keep praying!

Published by Temaka

The light ✨✨ filled with love❤️.

Leave a comment